Google is trying to make it easier for you to manage the vast pool of information that it collects about your online activities across phones, computers and other devices.
Among other things, a new privacy tool will enable the more than 1 billion people who use Googleâs search engine and other services to block certain ads from appearing on every device that they log into, instead of having to make a special request on each individual machine.
Some users of Googleâs search engine, Gmail and Chrome browser started receiving notices about the new option beginning Tuesday, but it will take several more weeks before itâs available to everyone.
Google also is introducing a âMy Activityâ feature that will enable users to delete records of their online search requests and videos watched on YouTube in a single location instead of having to visit different websites or apps.
Googleâs business has been built on its longtime practice of monitoring its usersâ online behaviour in an effort to learn about their interests so it can show ads most likely to appeal to them.
Those customised ads shown alongside Googleâs search results and the content on millions of other websites have turned Googleâs corporate parent, Alphabet Inc., into one of the worldâs most profitable companies.
In an effort to minimise complaints about invading peopleâs privacy, Google has long allowed its users to impose limits on how much data is accumulated about them and how many customised ads they see.
Last year, Google also opened a âMy Accountâ hub to serve as a one-stop shop for setting privacy and security controls.
If they choose, users will now be able to authorise Google to store their web browsing histories in the âMy Accountâ center.
Until now, Google had been keeping personal information in different digital dossiers that sometimes require users to take multiple steps to manage specific pieces of data.
For instance, someone annoyed by a Google-generated ad on their personal computer can prevent it from appearing again by clicking on an âXââ in the corner. Taking that step currently wonât block the same ad from appearing on the targeted personâs smartphone a few hours later.
Google says that will no longer happen if users allow it to stockpile web browsing histories in the âMy Accountâ center.